EUSALP Background

The EU Strategy for the Alpine (EUSALP) region covers 48 regions from 7 countries, of which 5 are EU Member States (Austria, France, Germany, Italy and Slovenia) and 2 are non-EU countries (Liechtenstein and Switzerland). The EUSALP Strategy is the fourth strategy of the European Union and was endorsed in 2014.


© MCRIT 2020

The Alpine region is a unique territory, which has an important potential for dynamism, but is facing major challenges, such as:

  • · economic globalisation that requires the territory to distinguish itself as competitive and innovative by developing the knowledge and information society
  • · demographic trends, characterised particularly by the combined effects of ageing and new migration models
  • · climate change and its foreseeable effects on the environment, biodiversity and on the living conditions of its inhabitants
  • · the energy challenge at the European and worldwide scales, which consists of managing and meeting demand sustainably, securely and affordably
  • · its specific geographical position in Europe, as a transit region but also as an area with unique geographical and natural features wich set the frame for all future developments

The  EUSALP Action Plan therefore outlines actions for Action Groups that aim to contribute to the overarching goals of fostering growth and innovation, increasing connectivity and mobility, and ensuring sustainable engagement with the environment and energy.

The EUSALP describes its governance structure as follows:

  • The General Assembly gathers the high-level political representatives of States and Regions involved in the Strategy, the European Commission, and the Alpine Convention as observer.
  • The core of the implementation level is the Action Groups and Action Group leaders.

More information:

Specificities of the EUSALP include the strong involvement of the regional level and the Alp Gov Project, which supported the initial implementation phase of the EUSALP. For the final report see here.