EUSAIR Background

The EU Strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian Region (EUSAIR) is chronologically the third macro-regional strategy adopted and was endorsed by the European Council in 2014.  The EU Strategy is a cooperation between four EU member states (Croatia, Greece, Italy, Slovenia) and five non EU countries (Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Montenegro, Northern Macedonia and Serbia). Northern Macedonia was included in the EUSAIR in 2020 (for official information please consult the addendum to the 2020 EU Communication concerning the EUSAIR).


The strategy contributes to the further integration of and collaboration between EU states and the Western Balkans. The Strategy was jointly developed by the Commission and the Adriatic-Ionian Region countries and stakeholders, which agreed to work together on the the four pillars of common interest: Blue growth, connecting the region, environmental quality, and sustainable tourism.

The 2020 EUSAIR Action Plan outlines the importance of cross-cutting issues such as capacity building.

The implementation of the EUSAIR is supported by the Facility Point, a collaboration between partners from all EUSAIR countries.

For more information on the EUSAIR and its implementation see here.